Miracles in our lifetime… remembering Madiba

Ok I am going to jump on the bandwagon with the rest of the world today, I usually prefer not to, but I think remembering Nelson Mandela today and what we have accomplished as a nation is ok. I don’t remember apartheid, I don’t remember “White’s only” signs. I don’t remember people stocking up on canned food because they were scared a civil war was about to break out in 1994. I was only 5 when the democratic South Africa was born. What I do remember is my dad making a point of driving each and every one of his farmworkers who had an ID book, to the voting station on 27 April 1994. I didn’t understand everything, I was too concerned with playing outdoors than to try and make sense of this grown-up thing. Today looking back I am puzzled at how anybody could have thought Apartheid is a good idea. What I do know is that I am living with the consequences, I have been told I can’t apply for a job and a bursary because I am white. And I still see the resentment in my fellow South African’s eyes at times, I can’t blame them. What I do know is that we have to learn from the past to build a better future.

I only heard the news of Madiba’s passing this morning when the meeting request came to have a moment of silence for Madiba at work. Just yesterday I drove past a lamp post with a newspaper board saying “New concerns for Madiba”. When I got there they had a photo of Madiba projected on the warehouse’s wall. I work for a big international company, so there were colleagues from all walks of life. Most of us with a kind of blank expression, the reality clearly not having sunk in yet. At the end one of the Zulu ladies with a very powerful voice started signing Nkosi Sikelel’iAfrika and everyone joined in. A very fitting moment for the man who lead us through a challenging time in our country’s history.

So as we remember Tata Madiba today for everything he has done and say thank you for the man that he was, I can’t help but be reminded that miracles still do happen in our lifetime. I thank God for giving us Madiba and for using him as one of His instruments to achieve a miracle in South Africa. And to remind us that peace and harmony are still possible even when the human eye doesn’t see it. The whole world was expecting a civil war to break out in South Africa in the early 90’s. But God always has a plan and the equipment in place. We just have to stay in faith and believe that He is greater than all things, no matter how impossible or farfetched it seems to us.

I don’t know what the future holds for me, in terms of whether I would be able to have children or not. But I choose to let God take control of my life and use it according to his plan. He knows what is best for me. I might not be a politician or a public figure, but I am a woman who are affected by Endometriosis and we have something to fight for.

So today as the world remembers Madiba, we are reminded to believe in miracles, no matter how big or small.

Leave a Reply

